The Dhammapadda

buddha_at_deer_park__115006965743f4f6d872976.jpg

There is no finer introduction to the Buddhist approach to life than to read the first few lines of a scripture called the Dhammapadda. These are supposed to be the original words of Siddhartha Gautama, who became known as the Buddha and lived more than 2,500 years ago.

There are many translations of the Dhammapadda; here is one:

All that we are is a result of what we have thought. What we think and feel today is a result of our previous thought and our thoughts and feelings of the future depend on what we think today. If a man thinks bad thoughts, suffering will follow him, just as certainly as the wheel of a cart follows the ox that pulls the cart.

All that we are is a result of what we have thought. What we think and feel today is a result of our previous thought and our thoughts and feelings of the future depend on what we think today. If a man thinks pure thoughts, suffering will not follow him, happiness will.

“He hurt me, he abused me, he attacked me, he robbed me”; in those who harbour such thoughts, feelings of hatred will arise.

“He hurt me, he abused me, he attacked me, he robbed me”; in those who do not harbour such thoughts, feelings of hatred will not arise. Hatred is not overcome with hatred; hatred is overcome by love alone. This is universally correct.

This quotation contains the essence of the Buddha’s approach to life: what you have thought mainly determines what you think and feel now: if you think bad thoughts, you will suffer through your feelings, but if you think pure thoughts you will be happy.

2 Responses to “The Dhammapadda”

  1. helmut Says:

    Hi Andrew,
    Thanks for your qoutes. They explain my life very well indeed.

  2. Gisela Says:

    Hi Andrew, thank you for these word. Hope I can follow them everytime without any doubts. I belive Buddha is right, but I am still far away from those “pure thoughts” I will belive in them, but mostly I think that way we should not do.
    If you can, just include me and my family into your pure thoughts and I may feel the good thoughts.
    Thank you Gisela

Leave a Reply

