Update on Student Status

A few days ago I was told that it was ok for me to join the fulltime MA programme. It felt like a good idea at the time, but then I gave it some serious thought and decided that I am going to stick with the part-time track that I am on and review the situation at the end of this semester.

There are a number of advantages of doing it this way. Basically, I came to the conclusion that the degree is just a title, a title that I’d like to have, but my real education is not found in the classroom – where I get straight A’s because I am so familar with the material already – but in deep meditation.

Instead of grabbing at the degree, I decided to adopt Joseph Campbell’s formula for living: ‘Follow your bliss.’ Once I started thinking that way, it became clear that going fulltime to get the degree wasn’t necessary.

It also occurred to me that if I continue on part-time until the end of this semester, then I will have nearly enough units to graduate anyway. It is even possible that I could get some previous work cross-credited. So the fulltime plan has been shelved for now.

Leave a Reply

